What’s Wrong With Movies: This Means War

Agreed, it wasn’t going to be a movie I would have chosen on my own, but hey, a free movie is a free movie.  I do still have to see “The Grey” which I believe is an hour and a half of Liam Neeson fighting a wolf with a torch (which still makes it better than all the Twilight films combined.)  I’ll admit, I didn’t come in with high expectations for the movie.  If you haven’t seen trailers or heard of it at all here’s the gist of it from Flixster.

“The world’s deadliest CIA operatives are inseparable partnersand best friends until they fall for the same woman. Having once helped bring down entire enemy nations, they are now employing their incomparable skills and an endless array of high-tech gadgetry against their greatest nemesis ever – each other.” -Flixster.com

I was completely down with seeing the movie up until finishing the first sentence, then I started questioning whether or not I was gonna be seeing a romantic comedy in disguise.  Either way… my thoughts.

It was one of the better movies I’ve seen in the last few months.  An especially nice touch was not having the leading roles filled by a clearly mentally-handicapped teenager and his steed *cough* War Horse *cough.*  And, for a non-Oscar bait film, it did a good job of consistently unfolding it’s unique plot.  Chris Pine (Kirk from the newer Star Trek) and Tom Hardy (The guy that one-punches, like, everyone in Warrior) have an awesome on screen relationship that reminds me a lot of my (non-CIA, sadly) relationships.  The mutual sabotaging of each other’s relational tactics makes for some pretty simple, yet satisfying, comedy.  I’d recommend this to anyone who is looking for a funny Valentine’s Day date night (it comes out on the same day.)

Stay Thirsty My Friends,
TP

This entry was posted in What's Wrong With Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

