There Goes My Hero

I guess doing logical things have their rewards.  For the last week I’ve been heralded as a “hero” by various news outlets, witnesses, fans, etc.  I won’t lie, it’s been kind of fun getting as close to being an X-man as I possibly can.  However, I’ve been weened off of arrogance and egotistical tendencies since I was a wee lad and I think it’s about time for everyone to put things in perspective.

Pictured: How I think everyone imagines me during the rescue

 

And hey, to even prove my point of non-heroism I went straight to the source.  Dictionary.com to figure our what the literal, in-stone, definition of being a hero is.  You can check out the link here.  If you’re too lazy to check, the first sentence usage of the word hero is “He was a local hero when he saved the drowning child.”  Which doesn’t really help my cause.  So I’ll widen my argument to just how we talk.  I’ll let Louis CK take the credit for this.  He’s equal parts philosopher and comedian.

I apologize for anyone offended by the couple of f-bombs dropped in there but it really does articulate my point.  One of my favourite phrases from that clip was “we go right to the top shelf with our words now.”  I think he makes a great argument.  What if the guy in the news before me was a soldier who sacrificed an arm or a leg to ensure the safety of his comrades.  How about the hundreds of thousands of men and women who work tirelessly for the Fire and Police Department.  If they’re heroes, then there is no way on Earth I can accept the same title.  I’m just a guy who did what I hope anyone would do for me.

Stay Thirsty My Friends,
TP

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There Goes My Hero

  1. Dan Hotovec says:

    Taylor, as you try to divert attention from your actions, you draw attention to your character. You’ll have to face it sooner or later: you are an upstanding, capable, caring guy who’s even more cool in that he’s humble enough not to let the hype swell his view of himself. That’s a human interest story that should be told, too! Where’s the press corps?!

  2. Minnesotagirl71 says:

    I’ve been thinking about this post for the past couple of days. Yes – military folks, law enforcement, fire fighters are heroes in a big way. But don’t discount the small acts of heroism that average individuals perform. It’s not their job, and they aren’t doing it for any recognition. You helped someone in need – to that person, you are a hero. Accept it, be honored and stay humble. The world needs more average heroes.

Leave a Reply

