Paranormal Youkiddingme 3

Quite a few things rise to the surface when you lock yourself inside a bus with twenty plus teenage guys and drive for countless hours on end.  Some things that you wouldn’t get to see on the normal bus rides.  For example, I’m pretty sure the hostility level of the group rises exponentially from the moment our driver hits the gas.

Bottles, insults, hay-makers all fly up and down the aisle, all in the name of team bonding.  On top of that, the bus becomes our necessary evil.  Like in the horror film 1408, John Cusack’s character becomes locked in a haunted hotel room, one which tortures him psychologically, emotionally, and physically.  At one point in the film, Cusack is made to believe that he has escaped the room, having a wonderful dinner with his wife and settling in back at home, only to wake up back in the dreaded room.

While the bus hasn’t become quite the horror 1408 was, you can see the similarities.  Instead of spontaneously combusting furniture, picture a speeding deathtrap filled with three weeks worth of underwear.  Moving on.

In past posts I’ve brought up the problem with the declining quality of horror films.

In reality I may have been a tad too harsh on the genre.  Possibly it’s because M. Night Shyamalan single-handed ruined the second greatest cartoon series of all time with one movie.  Possibly because when I was much to young I saw the “chestburster” scene from the movie alien while innocently flicking through tv channels.

 

I was seven! You can't unsee that

The Paranormal Activity Trilogy has brought me to the edge of my seat and to the darkest corners of my imagination.  I don’t care what people say about it, if you can make me that terrified by cleverly opening a door you deserve some serious commendation.  I know some people will say that pop-up horror isn’t really horror at all, you know who you are, but I can honestly say I think they may be subtly revolutionizing the genre.  Either way, whenever you can get an entire hockey team to jump into each other’s respective laps and scream expletives at a movie, you’re doing a good job.

What If,
TP

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

