The End

“All good things must come to an end” – English Proverb

I write this from the warm confines of my bed, hundreds of miles away from Portland, in a small town called Tsawwassen.  We’re famous for our ferries and not much else, it’s home.  It’s a bittersweet pleasure, knowing that we could still be battling along side each other.  Yet, no matter how many times we could have won, I’d eventually end up here. Not much can really be said.  We came close enough to catch the scent of victory only to have it whisked from underneath our collective noses.  Our outstretched hand now desperately reaching for lost trophy.

So, this morning I left Portland in the rear view mirror and headed north.

NOORRRRRRTH!!!

As I took my final route down the walkway between the floating homes, I saluted the geese, valiant adversaries.  I figured our battles would have developed some kind of bond.  Like two warriors who eventually become friends because of all the  respect they had gained throughout.  My salute was not returned.  A mistake on his part.  Thankfully for him, my gosling adoption plan will have to wait.  If everything had turned out, it could have been a Vader/Luke situation.  (I tried photoshopping Darth Vader and a goose together but it was an abomination.)

For the last three years now, my friends Zak has come down to help navigate my way from Portland to Vancouver (one right, a whole lot of straight, then a couple lefts.)  Even after eight months, neither of us had missed a beat with each others humor, I thought it was pretty impressive.  Even if we did end up wasting an hour discussing whether or not the discovery and implementation of wormhole technology would lead to the downfall of the economy.  One plus to the long trek is the complete lack of jay-walking.  Though, when one evil is done away with, another rises in its place (see: border crossing).

It’s good to be home.  As the old cliche goes “it feels like I’ve never left”, even if I say the same thing every time I come back to Portland.  I’m looking forward to a few days of absolutely nothing.  Maybe even take in a yoga class with Kenzie to start undoing what’s been done during the season.

Speaking of tradition, it’s become something of a tradition to play Motley Crue’s “Home Sweet home” right after crossing the border.  A kind of intro music for my return to Canada.  I find it’s pretty inspirational, especially around the guitar solo parts.

All For Now.
TP

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The End

  1. Dave says:

    You guys had a good run. Always enjoyed the figure 8’s. See ya next year, I’ll be sportin your number on occasion. Enjoy the summer.

  2. Alison says:

    Sorry to see you go so soon. Loved watching you guys play hockey this year. Have a wonderful summer and I’ll be seeing you in the fall. P.S. If you find a stuffed goose at the Teddy Bear Toss next year, it’s for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

