The Road: Day 7

“A team will always appreciate a great individual if he’s willing to sacrifice for the group.” -Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

A well deserved day off to start our week long break between series’.  The way things are going down, it looks like we’ll be playing Kelowna in the second round.  Should be an interesting series, as Kelowna always manages to become a considerable contender whenever spring rolls around.  Fortunately, I have a fair number of relatives living in Kelowna, so it’ll be nice to see more familiar faces in the stands as the series progresses.

Sometime yesterday, my keys decided they were old enough to go live on their own and promptly jumped ship, much to my disappointment.  Being the procrastinator I am, I was already down to my spare key, and had never gotten down to setting out to buy new ones.  Thankfully for my car’s future, I had also postponed my inquiry into how to hot wire a car.  I found out about this issue at the convenient hour of 1:30 in the morning, as our bus rumbled back into the Coliseum.  It did however, give me the opportunity to take in Portland’s downtown by foot on my trip to return Mom’s watch.

I realized a couple things during my travels today, one, I’m not cut out to be a elementary school teacher.  Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against kids, and plan on constructing a few of my own in the future.  I just think that trying to successfully control 10+ at the same time would be a total and complete nightmare.  Thank you Portland public transit, for showing me the futility in trying to chaperon these numbers.  Thankfully, I had reviewed the fighting strategy for taking on twenty children at once nights before (take out the leader first.)  It pays to be prepared.  Another thing I had to keep in mind was that there was nothing on my face; people were just staring because my playoff hair was a spot on impression of Robert De Niro in “Taxi Driver.”

Not pictured: Sanity

I welcomed the fact that I was still sweating in the open air with a t-shirt, however short the sensation would last.  I must say that some of the street performers downtown have legitimate musical ability, especially the fifteen piece plastic and bottle drumset put that was laid out on the corner of 6th and Yamhill.  I miss summertime when I could get away with buying a philly cheesteak sandwich from a street vendor.

All For Now,
TP

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

